Christopher and Daddy Do Karate Together

Participating in my Son’s Journey
 
Christopher and I got to participate in a special karate practice with Bruce Kanegai of CBS Survivor TV Show fame.  Bruce happens to be the teacher of my son’s karate teacher, Sen-sai Jeff McKendricks of the Temecula Shotokahn Do-jo, part of the Shotokan Karate of America, the most traditional Shotokan Karate organization in the world http://ska.org/.
 
On Friday I watched Christopher test with the rest of his little ninjas in the first official Kyu test for his age group.  Christopher progressed 2 levels and I was very, very proud of him.  Afterwards we celebrated with his favorite: Papa John’s Pizza.  Saturday I broke out my old Gi and participated in the practice with my son.  It was a very fulfilling experience, being able to do something that was challenging to both of us, in which we both learned and could talk abut afterward from the same perspective…it was really neat!
 
This was possibly better than coaching his team to a win at the San Diego Bible Bowl because we are both such learners and close to the same level and can appreciate it all in much the same way… it was very bonding.
 
Enjoy the pics!
 
Brent 
About brentdavis1

Chief executive of Complete Education, a tutoring and test prep company, I am a disciple of Jesus making disciples in Wichita, KS and at Wichita State University where I am a grad student in economics, while I help students achieve their academic goals, lead my family in the Way of the Lord and promote liberty, probity and valor in all my communities. I am an Austrian school economist avocationally and I enjoy talking about economics and sound economic policy in addition to studying the Bible with others to improve those around me financially and politically as well as spiritually.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

