Home in Wichita

Returning Home after More Than Half-a-Lifetime Away (part II…All was not lost after all.)
 
I was born here in Wichita, Kansas, in Wesley Hospital, still the main University of Kansas teaching hospital in Wichita. I left in 1984, having spent 16 of my first 21 years here with a five year hiatus in Manhattan from 1st-5th grades where my mother took her masters in guideance and counseling. I attended Allen Elementary in Wichita for kindergarten, Northview Elementary in Manhattan, Caldwell Elementary for 6th grade, Curtis Junior High for 7th and 8th, Wichita Collegiate School 9th- half of 11th, and Wichita High School Southeast for half of 11th-12th where I graduated in 1981.
 
Although I won scholarships at WSU I planned matriculation to Grinnell College in Iowa where several of my friends had gone. I planned and imagined wide experimentation at Grinnell to see what there was in life that I might have been missing growing up in my relatively sheltered mid-continent environs. But going first to the University of Dallas for an economics seminar and then to Colorado for Bible camp I saw clearly that the path to a happy life and changing the world for good lied in serving Jesus and changing men’s (people’s) hearts though teaching the truth in love. So after a breif relocation to Ft. Collins I relanded in Wichita enrolled at Wichita State with an abundance of scholarship money. I began working in Dave Michael’s campus ministry and made some great life-long friends in Steve Zerger and Bill White. Greg Nevil was the "Pulpit Minister" at Elpyco St Church of Christ where I went to church in those days. In fact I’d been pretty involved in the JOY Bus ministry, Elpyco Teens for Christ.
About brentdavis1

Chief executive of Complete Education, a tutoring and test prep company, I am a disciple of Jesus making disciples in Wichita, KS and at Wichita State University where I am a grad student in economics, while I help students achieve their academic goals, lead my family in the Way of the Lord and promote liberty, probity and valor in all my communities. I am an Austrian school economist avocationally and I enjoy talking about economics and sound economic policy in addition to studying the Bible with others to improve those around me financially and politically as well as spiritually.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

